Mendenhall DUI Attorney
Defending a Mendenhall DUI requires experience in a very specialized field of law. A good DUI attorney in Mendenhall must understand the science behind your blood alcohol test, and have the experience to understand how the Simpson County police make DUI arrests. Criminal defense attorney Witt Fortenberry represents individuals in Mendenhall, and throughout Simpson County that have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Experience in the field of DUI law has equipped Witt with the knowledge needed to uncover weaknesses in the evidence against you.
Fortenberry Law Firm provides aggressive defense to all DUI charges in Mendenhall and the surrounding Mississippi counties. Witt is dedicated to protecting those accused of drunk driving in Mississippi from unnecessary convictions and criminal penalties. Fortenberry Law Firm clients do not plead guilty when a better outcome can be obtained. DUI and convictions can have life-changing consequences beyond the criminal court penalties involved. Witt Fortenberry fights to minimize the impact a DUI arrest by having the charges reduced or dropped.
Mississippi DUI laws include severe penalties for those convicted of driving under the influence. It critical to have an expert DUI attorney when you have been charged with a drunk driving offense. Witt Fortenberry has represented those charged with DUI in Mendenhall, and he handles DUI cases throughout Magee and the rest of Simpson County. Please call Fortenberry Law Firm immediately if you are facing drunk driving charges.
The consequences for a DUI conviction in Mississippi can include both lengthy jail sentences as well as the loss of your driving privileges. Witt’s first goal is to help you avoid a conviction altogether. If that attempt is unsuccessful, the objective then becomes helping you avoid unreasonably harsh penalties in court.
The Cost of a DUI in Mississippi
In the State of Mississippi, your first DUI conviction will cost you upwards of $1,000, imprisonment up to 48 hours, or both. You will also be required to attend and complete an alcohol safety program or attend a victim impact panel, possibly both. You can expect your drivers license to be suspended for at least 90 days, during which time you must attend and successfully complete an alcohol safety education program.
Your second DUI offense within 5 years of the first, you will face a minimum fine of $600 with the maximum DUI fine being $1,500. You will also serve a minimum of 5 days in jail, with a maximum of 1 year, and be ordered to do community service work for no less than 10 days up to 1 year. Your license will also be suspended for 3 years. You will also receive notification that any subsequent convictions could lead to the forfeiture of your vehicle.
A DUI third conviction can be considered a felony. You will face a minimum fine of $2,000 with the maximum fine being $5,000. You will serve a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 5 years in the custody of the Mississippi Department of Corrections. Provided no one was injured as a result of your offense, you may serve the 1 year in jail instead of the State Penitentiary. If you are charged with a third subsequent violation, you will lose your vehicle and your drivers license will be suspended for 5 years.
Charged with DUI in Mendenhall?
If you or a loved you are facing DUI charges, it is imperative that you contact an experienced Mendenhall DUI Lawyer. If you have questions concerning drunk driving charges, contact Witt Fortenberry today.